Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Cowboys From Sweden Update...

Hello Everyone!
The last few months I have been getting requests from people who want me to upload all the old Cowboys mixes that have dead links. Good news, I'm working on it right now.  Starting today, I should be posting some of the old mixes again for your listening pleasure (again). I am also working on some new Cowboys mixes which I hope to post soon, but I tend to work on them forever, so we'll see how quick that happens.  It takes a lot of time to keep a blog updated and links alive, so please feel encouraged to share these new mix links on your own blogs.  That might make my life easier!  Thanks everyone for listening and thanks to all of you who take the time to comment.  Feedback always makes this way more enjoyable...

Now if you'll kindly excuse me, I am going to tie a rope to my ankle and go down into the dungeon to see what I can dig up.  If you don't see me in one hour, please pull the rope.

- Eric

Tuesday, October 8, 2013

Dani ‎– Ah! Mon Cher Hector (1971)

Here is a pretty rare single from the French singer Dani taken from the film "Qu'est-ce Qui Fait Courir Les Crocodiles".  I know nothing about the film, but I do know that this is one of the best songs I have ever heard!  Side A, that is. "Ah! Mon Cher Hector" is a heavy hitting dark orchestral pop number written by Jean-Claude Vannier (Well, both sides are Vannier compositions actually).  This track features all of my favorite elements of a Vannier production: breaks, orchestral stabs in minor keys, staccato piano and harpsichord riffs, noisy percussion, and of course sexy bass lines and sexy vocals.  This track was already featured on the "Be Quiet" mix by The Cowboys From Sweden, but being the completist that I am, I figured there are some collectors out there who would appreciate a proper rip of this one.  The b-side is your typical zany instrumental Vannier thing.  Hope you enjoy!  320 rip from original 7" (scans included).


Friday, June 14, 2013

Promenade Solitaire: Compiled & Mixed by The Cowboys From Sweden (2013)

I am pleased to announce that another brand new mix by The Cowboys From Sweden is complete! The mix is called "Promenade Solitaire", named after an Ennio Morricone track featured in the mix. The title pretty much sums up the feel of this mix perfectly. Themes for solitude, themes for walking alone. This mix has been my company on my daily walks through the park (usually at around sunset or after dark) this whole year. The overall feel is sentimental, lonely, highly classical and sometimes triumphant. There are plenty of obscure tracks to be found here that have been lost over time, so hopefully much of this music is new to you, since I had to dig pretty deep for some of these gems. The mix is dominated by dark classical melodies and lush groovy arrangements from mostly French and Italian composers and pop icons. Lots of big vocals and moody instrumentals that are sure to steal your breath. This might be the moodiest mix by the Cowboys from Sweden to date. I sincerely hope that you enjoy it. I would strongly suggest that you listen to it in headphones while walking alone at night. Perhaps then you will hear what I hear...

Ripped at 320kbps, Artwork included. Comments are very much appreciated. Thanks.

Download Here

Or Here

Saturday, May 11, 2013

Léonie ‎– En Alabama / Wahala Manitou 7" (1971)

Here's a little treat for all of you who collect French rarities!  A nice little 7" by Léonie Lousseau featuring two insanely good tracks! "En Alabama" (Written by the one and only Jean-Claude Vannier and Sébastien Poitrenaud) is basically a vocal version of Vannier's library groove "Je M'Appelle Geraldine", a bonus track from his 1972 masterpiece "L'Enfant Assassin Des Mouches".  On the B side we find a nice tune written by French pop star and soundtracker - Christope called "Wahala Manitou", a bit of a slow burner, but equally as engaging.  This single is pretty hard to find in the states, so I hope you enjoy this fresh vinyl rip!  320 kbps naturally with cover scans included.


Monday, February 18, 2013

Claude François - Monsieur Le Businessman EP (1968)

Here's anther quick one while I'm at it.  This is a four track EP by Claude François called "Monsieur Le Businessman" from 1968.  A pretty upbeat little single featuring four over the top (and sometimes slightly zany) French vocal pop tracks.  Huge orchestral arrangements, heavy drumming and Mr. François' insane vocal delivery makes for a very entertaining listen.  Short and sweet, get it now!  Ripped from the original 7", 320 kbps!  Zip contains cover scans and center labels too!

Track listing:
A1 Avec La Tête, Avec Le Coeur
A2 Prends Garde Petite Fille
B1 Monsieur Le Businessman
B2 Chante Pleure


Jean-Pierre Ferland - Jaune (1970)

Here we have a fresh vinyl rip of Jean-Pierre Ferland's 1970 LP "Jaune"!  If you haven't yet heard this rarity from Barclay records, you should certainly check it out.  I was shocked upon my first listen how lushly produced this album was and how solid the song writing was. Beautiful arrangements throughout the LP take you on a diverse trip through some soft sentimental songs, dark heavy hitting grooves and even a disco number!  Some of you may recognize Ferland's masterpiece (in my opinion) "Le Chat Du Café Des Artistes" which was covered by Charlotte Gainsbourg, on her IRM album a few years back. That was certainly the track that first caught my attention with it's heavy break-beats over lush orchestral stabs and spooky children's choir.  Perfect chamber pop!  Although the rest of the LP isn't quite as dark as that track, there are plenty of other lovely songs to discover here.  One of my other favorites is the soft ballad called "Le Petit Roi" which is kind of the first official track on the LP.  Towards the end of the song, the music fades out and then fades back in, coming back with some beautiful female vocals taking over the lead vocals.  There are a bunch of cool musical interludes too throughout the album filled with great breaks, pick bass, orchestra and synthesizers.  I think that's about all I should say.  Give it a listen, it's a rare one and you can't find it anywhere else.  This was ripped from the original LP by the Cowboys from Sweden.  Enjoy!  320 kbps.

Track listing:
A1 Prologue
A2 Le Petit Roi
A3 Quand On Aime On A Toujours Vingt Ans
A4 Sing Sing
A5 God Is An Americain
A6 Le Chat Du Café Des Artistes
B1 ...
B2 Y'a Des Jours
B3 Ce Qu'on Dit Quand On Tient Une Femme Dans Ses Bras
B4 Épilogue
B5 It Ain't Fair