Monday, February 18, 2013

Claude François - Monsieur Le Businessman EP (1968)

Here's anther quick one while I'm at it.  This is a four track EP by Claude François called "Monsieur Le Businessman" from 1968.  A pretty upbeat little single featuring four over the top (and sometimes slightly zany) French vocal pop tracks.  Huge orchestral arrangements, heavy drumming and Mr. François' insane vocal delivery makes for a very entertaining listen.  Short and sweet, get it now!  Ripped from the original 7", 320 kbps!  Zip contains cover scans and center labels too!

Track listing:
A1 Avec La Tête, Avec Le Coeur
A2 Prends Garde Petite Fille
B1 Monsieur Le Businessman
B2 Chante Pleure


Jean-Pierre Ferland - Jaune (1970)

Here we have a fresh vinyl rip of Jean-Pierre Ferland's 1970 LP "Jaune"!  If you haven't yet heard this rarity from Barclay records, you should certainly check it out.  I was shocked upon my first listen how lushly produced this album was and how solid the song writing was. Beautiful arrangements throughout the LP take you on a diverse trip through some soft sentimental songs, dark heavy hitting grooves and even a disco number!  Some of you may recognize Ferland's masterpiece (in my opinion) "Le Chat Du Café Des Artistes" which was covered by Charlotte Gainsbourg, on her IRM album a few years back. That was certainly the track that first caught my attention with it's heavy break-beats over lush orchestral stabs and spooky children's choir.  Perfect chamber pop!  Although the rest of the LP isn't quite as dark as that track, there are plenty of other lovely songs to discover here.  One of my other favorites is the soft ballad called "Le Petit Roi" which is kind of the first official track on the LP.  Towards the end of the song, the music fades out and then fades back in, coming back with some beautiful female vocals taking over the lead vocals.  There are a bunch of cool musical interludes too throughout the album filled with great breaks, pick bass, orchestra and synthesizers.  I think that's about all I should say.  Give it a listen, it's a rare one and you can't find it anywhere else.  This was ripped from the original LP by the Cowboys from Sweden.  Enjoy!  320 kbps.

Track listing:
A1 Prologue
A2 Le Petit Roi
A3 Quand On Aime On A Toujours Vingt Ans
A4 Sing Sing
A5 God Is An Americain
A6 Le Chat Du Café Des Artistes
B1 ...
B2 Y'a Des Jours
B3 Ce Qu'on Dit Quand On Tient Une Femme Dans Ses Bras
B4 Épilogue
B5 It Ain't Fair